# BUCK v. AMERICAN GENERAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY

> District Court, D. New Jersey · February 25, 2021

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10270047

## Case

- **Court:** District Court, D. New Jersey
- **Decided:** February 25, 2021
- **Opinion:** 100trialcourt
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10270047

## Opinion text

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT
DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

DUANE BUCK and ANN BUCK, on
No. 1:17-cv-13278-NLH-KMW
behalf of themselves and all

others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs,

OPINION
v.

AMERICAN GENERAL LIFE

INSURANCE COMPANY,

Defendant.

APPEARANCES:
SCOTT B. GORMAN
GORMAN & GORMAN, ESQS.
LIBERTY VIEW
457 HADDONFIELD ROAD
SUITE 400
CHERRY HILL, NJ 08002-2220

CRAIG S. HILLIARD
STEFANIE LYNN COLELLA-WALSH
MARTIN P. SCHRAMA
STARK & STARK, PC
PRINCETON PIKE CORPORATE CENTER
993 LENOX DRIVE - BUILDING TWO
PO BOX 5315
LAWRENCEVILLE, NJ 08648

Attorneys for Plaintiffs Duane Buck and Ann Buck.

ANDREW P. FISHKIN
ZACHARY WINTHROP SILVERMAN
FISHKIN LUCKS LLP
The Legal Center
One Riverfront Plaza, Suite 410
NEWARK, NJ 07102

Attorneys for Defendant American General Life Insurance
Company.
HILLMAN, District Judge
This case is a putative class action alleging the breach of
universal life insurance policies. Presently before the Court

is the motion of Plaintiffs Duane and Ann Buck to certify two
proposed classes and appoint class representatives and class
counsel, which Defendant American General Life Insurance
(“AGLIC”) has opposed. For the reasons expressed below,
Plaintiffs’ motion will be denied.
BACKGROUND
The Court has previously laid out many of the relevant
facts in its earlier October 31, 2018 Opinion. (ECF No. 25).
However, as many of the facts that were relevant in that Opinion
remain relevant for the purposes of considering the pending
motion for class certification, that Court will re-state those
facts needed for its current analysis, and will add those

additional necessary facts that have been further introduced
through the parties’ briefing on the present motion.
In 1984, Plaintiffs Duane and Ann Buck purchased a
universal life insurance policy (the “Buck Policy”) on the life
of Duane Buck with his wife, Ann Buck, as an additional insured.
The Buck Policy was issued by The Old Line Life Insurance
Company of America, a company later acquired by Defendant AGLIC.
Universal life insurance is a form of permanent life
insurance, also known as flexible premium or adjustable life
insurance. This refers to the fact that a policy is for a term
of years with a set periodic premium, but the premium, benefits,
and beneficiaries may all be modified during the term of years.

Universal life insurance policies have a cash account, from
which any charges or expenses associated with the insurance
policy are deducted; as policyholders pay their set periodic
premium, any amount paid via set premium that exceeds the cost
of the policyholder’s insurance and other expenses remains in
the account, accruing a guaranteed minimum interest. The money
in this account is granted a tax-deferred status.
This type of insurance is meant to give a policyholder
coverage for her entire lifetime, while allowing her to vary
premium payments, adjust death benefits, and build a cash value
while young to offset the higher premiums charged later in life.
In other words, as Plaintiffs explain, this type of policy has

three elements: (1) the premium, payable periodically, (2) the
death benefit, payable to the beneficiary upon death of the
insured, and (3) the cash surrender value, the value the
policyholder receives if the policy is surrendered prior to
death. The cash value built up in the policy receives preferred
tax treatment and may be used to pay the cost of insurance in
place of a premium, to borrow money against the policy, or
merely saved to build cash value.
These types of policies are governed, in part, by the
Internal Revenue Code. Section 7702, codified as part of the
Deficit Reduction Act of 1984 (“DEFRA”), provides an outer limit

for the amount of cash value that may accrue within a policy
while still qualifying for preferred tax treatment. See I.R.C.
§ 7702, et seq. If the cash value exceeds this outer limit, a
policy may lose preferred tax treatment as “life insurance.”
When it appears that an account may be approaching losing its
preferred tax treatment, AGLIC sends the policyholder a DEFRA
violation notice, generally informing her that her ability to
make premium payments has been limited so as to avoid accruing a
greater cash value than permitted under § 7702.
Initially, the Buck Policy provided a $70,000 death benefit
for Duane Buck, a $25,000 rider for Ann Buck, and three $5,000
riders, one for each of the couple’s children. The Policy

guaranteed an interest rate of 4.5%, compounded yearly, for all
premiums paid in excess of cost. The Policy also grants
Plaintiffs the right to effectuate a partial or total surrender
of the Policy at certain points with certain predetermined fees.
AGLIC also provided “Annual Reports” which show the policy’s
current death benefit, current cash value, total amount of
premiums paid, total accumulated growth, and total charges
assessed. As the name suggests, the Policy promises that these
Annual Reports would be sent – at least - on a yearly basis.
Importantly, the Policy also states that “The Disclosure
Statement which was delivered with this policy shows how long
coverage will continue on the basis of current and guaranteed

assumptions. The Annual Report sent to the Owner each year will
update this information.” (ECF No. 8-1, Ex. A at 1). Finally,
the Policy states that if the Bucks pay a set fee and make a
request in writing, AGLIC “will provide an illustration of
future death benefits and cash values. The illustration will be
based on necessary assumptions specified by us and/or the owner.
This includes assumptions as to specified amount, coverage
options and future premium payments.” Id. at 9.
At some point later, Plaintiffs increased Duane Buck’s
death benefit to $100,000 and Ann Buck’s death benefit to
$50,000. In 2008, Plaintiffs requested that AGLIC reduce the
death benefit for both Duane and Ann Buck to $25,000 and that it

eliminate the $15,000 in riders the couple had maintained for
their children. AGLIC complied. In connection with the 2008
decrease in death benefit, the Bucks requested, and AGLIC
provided, a “Supplemental Illustration” (the “Illustration”)
dated September 29, 2008. The Illustration provides
policyholders with projections to help them decide how desired
changes to their policy may affect the ability of their
investment to grow while maintaining preferred tax status.
Plaintiffs allege the Illustrations provided by AGLIC determined
the amount of yearly or monthly premiums they paid. The Bucks
appear to have not paid their premium in 2009, although they
argue that this was the fault of Defendant, and that the

necessary amount of money as defined by the Planned Premium was
withdrawn as a late payment.
On January 7, 2016, AGLIC sent Plaintiffs a letter which
claimed the Policy had been funded to its limit and was at risk
of losing its preferred tax status. Defendant, in this letter,
claimed that it was a combination of the decrease in death
benefits and premium amount which led to this compliance issue.
Plaintiffs allege that the reason the Policy was at risk of
losing its preferred tax status was because Defendant used
faulty compliance procedures and software which failed to
adequately predict the amount of premiums required to keep the
Policy tax compliant throughout its life, and provided them

inaccurate information on this front in both the Illustration
and their Annual Reports.
While AGLIC does not concede that the Bucks are correct as
to the cause of their DEFRA violation, it does acknowledge that
the company has discovered that their Illustration “erroneously
did not account for the” impact the changes to their policy
would have on their tax-deferred status. (See ECF No. 74 at
15). This issue was apparently caused by a “a software
limitation in the relevant illustration system,” which AGLIC has
acknowledged could cause Illustrations provided to policyholders
in certain scenarios to fail to account for certain factors
underlying the DEFRA compliance analysis, and therefore provide

inaccurate information. Id.
AGLIC presented the Bucks with three options that would
allow the Policy to maintain its tax status: (1) increasing the
death benefit (which would have required additional
underwriting), (2) surrendering the Policy, or (3) maintaining
the Policy, allowing annual refunds, and ceasing premium
payments until the cash value of the Policy was exhausted.
AGLIC, in the letter, reserved the right to completely surrender
the Policy if Plaintiffs did not choose one of the three listed
options. Plaintiffs chose none of these options. AGLIC
continued to send letters over the following year, reiterating
the options available and that it reserved the right to

unilaterally surrender the policy if no option was chosen.
On January 13, 2017, AGLIC sent a letter stating (1) the
Policy remained non-compliant, (2) a check would be sent in the
amount of $3,260 representing the amount the Policy was
overfunded, and (3) the cash value of the Policy would be used
to pay premiums until it had been exhausted, at which time
Plaintiffs could resume paying premiums. Finally, on December
11, 2017 AGLIC sent a letter stating Plaintiffs “may pay enough
into the policy each year as necessary to maintain . . .
coverage without building up any excess policy value.”
On December 19, 2017, Plaintiffs filed their complaint in

this Court, including class allegations. Plaintiffs present two
claims for relief: breach of contract and recission. Defendant
then filed both a motion to dismiss and a motion to strike the
class allegations on March 5, 2018. This Court issued an
Opinion and Order granting in part and denying in part the
motion to dismiss and denying the motion to strike class
allegations. In its opinion, the Court held that Plaintiffs
could move forward on certain of their theories of breach of
contract.
Most importantly for the current motion, the Court found
that Plaintiffs had adequately alleged that their Policy
obligated Defendant to send them (1) a yearly Annual Report that

contains certain information regarding the policy’s current
amount, cash value, premiums paid, termination dates, and more,
and (2) an Illustration of Future Benefits and Values whenever
Defendant receives a written request and payment of a service
fee, which would include certain similar information. The
Court, viewing the allegations in the light most favorable to
Plaintiffs, found that they had sufficiently alleged at the
pleadings stage that if the Annual Reports or Illustration
contained misrepresentations or omissions as to the information
the Policy promised to include, that would constitute a breach.
After the parties engaged in extensive discovery,

Plaintiffs then filed a motion to certify two classes on July
29, 2020. (ECF No. 68). Specifically, Plaintiffs seek to
certify both a Damages Class and an Injunction Class, defined in
both their Complaint and their initial moving brief as follows:
Damages Class
[A]ll AGLIC policyholders in the United States, their
beneficiaries or estates, and their successors in interest, who:

a) purchased one or more life insurance products from AGLIC; and

b) were provided with one or more Illustrations and/or Annual
Reports by AGLIC containing one or more statements as to
periodic planned premiums remaining at the same dollar amount,
and the policy remaining in effect, for a specified number of
years; and

c) received notice from AGLIC in a letter, Policy Option Form,
or other similar document (referred to hereinafter as a “DEFRA
Notice”), advising, inter alia:

1) That the policy had exceeded its premium guideline
limit, which had caused the policy to be out of compliance
with current tax guidelines or federal regulations; or

2) That any additional payment of premium at the time of
the DEFRA Notice would cause the policy to be out of
compliance with current tax guidelines or federal
regulations; or

3) That the policy was disqualified, or would be
disqualified, as a contract of life insurance, because of
the payment of premiums which exceeded the maximum amount
of allowable funds that may be paid into a policy; or

4) That such policyholder(s) could not pay premiums, or
could no longer continue the policy on the same terms, as
previously set forth in AGLIC’s previous Illustrations
and/or Annual Report(s); and also made reference to federal
tax regulation(s) or law.

Injunctive Class
All AGLIC Universal Life insurance policyholders in the United
States, their beneficiaries or estates, and their successors in
interest, who are contractually entitled to receive an
Illustration and/or Annual Report from AGLIC.

(ECF No. 68 at 16-17).

Defendants then filed a lengthy brief opposing Plaintiffs
motion to certify these classes. Seemingly in response to
arguments raised by Defendants in their opposition brief,
Plaintiffs’ reply brief refined their class definitions by
clarifying that only policyholders who were “contractually
entitled” to “forward-looking” Annual Reports or Illustrations
would qualify as class members: “the only potential Injunctive
Class members are policyholders who are contractually entitled
to receive a forward-looking AGLIC Illustration and/or Annual
Report. In addition, the only potential Damages Class members
are policyholders who: 1) were contractually entitled to and did
receive a forward-looking AGLIC Illustration and/or Annual
Report; 2) paid their current set Planned Premiums; and 3) still
received a DEFRA Notice.” (ECF No. 83 at 9) (emphasis added).
Noting these changes, Defendant filed a letter requesting
permission to file a sur-reply brief addressing both the
specific impact of those changes on the motion to certify class,
as well as arguments raised by Plaintiffs’ newly introduced
expert. The Court granted both parties permission to file
further sur-replies addressing these additional questions, which

both parties did. (ECF No. 88 and 89).
The Court notes that Plaintiffs claim, both in a letter
addressed to the Court and in their sur-reply, that they have
not in fact changed their class definitions — specifically, they
contend that their class definitions, despite not initially
mentioning “forward-looking” Illustrations or Annual Reports and
not explicitly stating that Damages Class members needed to be
contractually entitled to receive an Illustration or Annual
Report, actually were intended to incorporate the Court’s
explication of Plaintiffs’ breach of contract claims in its
October 31, 2018 Opinion. The Court finds this argument
unavailing. Plaintiffs’ initial Damages Class definition as

proposed in their moving brief, for example, is unchanged from
their complaint, and therefore could not have been intended to
incorporate the Court’s ruling on the motion to dismiss.
However, the Court also recognizes “the ongoing refinement
and give-and-take inherent in class action litigation,
particularly in the formation of a workable class definition.”
Weitzner v. Sanofi Pasteur, Inc., No. 3:11-CV-02198, 2017 WL
3894888, at *9 (M.D. Pa. Sept. 6, 2017) (quoting In the Matter
of: Monumental Life Insurance Co., 365 F.3d 408, 414 (5th Cir.
2004)). Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(c)(1) provides a
mechanism for modification of class definition, and as such “[a]
court is not bound by the class definition proposed in the

complaint.” Weisfeld v. Sun Chem. Corp., 84 F. App’x. 257, 259
(3d Cir. 2004) (citing Robidoux v. Celani, 987 F.2d 931, 937 (2d
Cir. 1993)). Importantly, courts have allowed Plaintiffs to
substantially modify proposed class definitions initially set
forth in their Complaint throughout the course of litigation.
See, e.g., Gates v. Rohm & Haas Co., 265 F.R.D. 208, 215 n.10
(E.D. Pa. 2010) (citing Robidoux, 987 F.2d at 937) (noting that
Plaintiffs were permitted to substantially modify the proposed
class definition in their reply brief); see also In re Thalomid
and Revlimid Antitrust Litig., No. 14-6997, 2018 WL 6573118, at
*2 n.1 (D.N.J. Oct. 30, 2018) (analyzing class definitions as
refined and amended in plaintiffs’ reply brief).

Further, as the Court has permitted both parties to file
sur-reply briefs addressing these changes and putting forth
additional arguments regarding the propriety of certification of
the proposed classes as amended, it finds that Defendant has not
been prejudiced by Plaintiffs’ actions in amending their class
definitions in their reply brief. Accordingly, the Court, in
analyzing the present motion to certify class, will incorporate
Plaintiffs’ newly added requirements that class members be
contractually entitled to receive a forward-looking Illustration
or Annual Report.
DISCUSSION
I. Subject Matter Jurisdiction

This Court has jurisdiction over this action under the
Class Action Fairness Act of 2005. See 28 U.S.C. § 1332(d)
(granting United States district courts jurisdiction over
putative class claims, which, in aggregate, exceed $5,000,000
and include one putative class member who is diverse from
defendants). Plaintiffs are individual citizens of New Jersey
and AGLIC is a citizen of Texas having been incorporated there
and maintaining its principal place of business in that state.
Plaintiffs allege damages exceeding the statutory minimum.
II. Legal Standard for Motions to Certify Class
“The class action is ‘an exception to the usual rule that

litigation is conducted by and on behalf of the individual named
parties only.’” Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Dukes, 564 U.S. 338,
348, 131 S. Ct. 2541, 180 L. Ed. 2d 374 (2011) (quoting Califano
v. Yamasaki, 442 U.S. 682, 700-01, 99 S. Ct. 2545, 61 L. Ed. 2d
176 (1979)). In order to justify a departure from the general
rule that each litigant proceeds with their own action, “a class
representative must be part of the class and possess the same
interest and suffer the same injury as the class members.” Id.
at 348-49 (quoting East Tex. Motor Freight System, Inc. v.
Rodriguez, 431 U.S. 395, 403, 97 S. Ct. 1891, 52 L. Ed. 2d 453
(1977)) (internal quotation marks omitted).
Every putative class action must satisfy the four

requirements of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 23(a):
numerosity, commonality, typicality, and adequacy. City Select
Auto Sales, Inc. v. BMW Bank of N. Am., Inc., 867 F.3d 434, 438
(3d Cir. 2017) (citing Amchem Prods., Inc. v. Windsor, 521 U.S.
591, 613, 117 S. Ct. 2231, 138 L. Ed. 2d 689 (1997)). In more
detail, Rule 23(a) requires the movant to establish that:
(1) the class is so numerous that joinder of all members is
impracticable;

(2) there are questions of law or fact common to the class;

(3) the claims or defenses of the representative parties are
typical of the claims or defenses of the class; and

(4) the representative parties will fairly and adequately
protect the interests of the class.

Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(a); Beneli v. Bca Fin. Servs., 324 F.R.D. 89,
95 (D.N.J. 2018).
The party “seeking class certification bear[s] the burden
of establishing by a preponderance of the evidence that the
requirements of Rule 23(a) have been met.” In re NFL Players
Concussion Injury Litig., 821 F.3d 410, 426 (3d Cir. 2016)
(quoting In re Cmty. Bank of N. Virginia Mortg. Lending
Practices Litig., 795 F.3d 380, 391 (3d Cir. 2015)).
In addition to the Rule 23(a) requirements, a class action
must be maintainable under Rule 23(b)(1), (2), or (3).
Plaintiffs seek certification of two separate classes, a Damages

Class under Rule 23(b)(3) and an Injunctive Class under Rule
23(b)(2). Rule 23(b)(2) requires Plaintiffs to meet the
additional requirement of cohesiveness, meaning that “the relief
sought is appropriate for and will benefit the entire class.”
McNair v. Synapse Group, Inc. 2010 WL 4777483, at *7 (D.N.J.
Nov. 15, 2010).
Rule 23(b)(3), on the other hand, requires Plaintiffs to
meet the additional requirements of predominance and
superiority. City Select, 867 F.3d at 438-39 (citing Amchem,
521 U.S. at 615). Under that subsection, a class must also be
“currently and readily ascertainable based on objective
criteria.” Id. at 439 (quoting Marcus v. BMW of N. Am. LLC, 687

F.3d 583, 593 (3d Cir. 2012)). To satisfy this standard,
Plaintiff must show that “(1) the class is ‘defined with
reference to objective criteria’; and (2) there is ‘a reliable
and administratively feasible mechanism for determining whether
putative class members fall within the class definition.’” Id.
(quoting Byrd v. Aaron’s Inc., 784 F.3d 154, 163 (3d Cir.
2015)); Carrera v. Bayer Corp., 727 F.3d 300, 306 (3d Cir.
2013). The district court must “undertake a rigorous analysis
of the evidence to determine if the standard is met.” Id.
(quoting Carrera, 727 F.3d at 306).
III. Rule 23(a) Analysis

The Court first finds that Plaintiffs have not satisfied
the Rule 23(a) factors by a preponderance of the evidence.
A. Rule 23(a)(1): Numerosity
Rule 23(a)(1) requires that a class be “so numerous that
joinder of all members is impracticable.” In re NFL Players
Concussion Injury Litig., 821 F.3d at 426 (quoting Fed. R. Civ.
P. 23(a)(1)). “There is no magic number of class members needed
for a suit to proceed as a class action.” Id. That said,
numerosity is generally satisfied if there are more than forty
(40) class members. Id. (citing Marcus v. BMW of N. Am., LLC,
687 F.3d at 595; Stewart v. Abraham, 275 F.3d 220, 226-27 (3d
Cir. 2001)).

Here, the numerosity requirement is clearly satisfied.
Plaintiffs note that Defendant’s own estimates as to the number
of individuals that could be in the proposed classes are well
above the standard forty-class-members benchmark. Defendants do
not dispute this assertion, and do not argue that Plaintiffs
have not sufficiently demonstrated numerosity in either of their
opposition briefs. Accordingly, the Court finds that Plaintiffs
have satisfied this requirement.
B. Rule 23(a)(2): Commonality
Rule 23(a)(2) requires that “there [be] questions of law or
fact common to the class.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(a)(2). “It is

well established that only one question of law or fact in common
is necessary to satisfy the commonality requirement, despite the
use of the plural ‘questions’ in the language of Rule 23(a)(2).”
In re Schering Plough Corp. ERISA Litig., 589 F.3d 585, 597 n.10
(3d Cir. 2009); Wal-Mart Stores, Inc. v. Dukes, 564 U.S. at 359.
Thus, there is a “low threshold for satisfying this
requirement.” Beneli, 324 F.R.D. at 97 (first citing Newton v.
Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith, Inc., 259 F.3d 154, 183
(3d Cir. 2001) and then citing In re Sch. Asbestos Litig., 789
F.2d 996, 1010 (3d Cir. 1986)) (highlighting the low threshold
for commonality). Moreover, this requirement does not mandate
that all putative class members share identical claims. Hassine

v. Jeffes, 846 F.2d 169, 176-77 (3d Cir. 1988). “Even where
individual facts and circumstances do become important to the
resolution, class treatment is not precluded.” Beneli, 324
F.R.D. at 97 (quoting Baby Neal, et al. v. Casey, et al., 43
F.3d 48, 56 (3d Cir. 1994)).
Defendants again do not dispute that Plaintiffs have
sufficiently demonstrated commonality, and the Court easily
finds that they have. The claims of all members of both
classes, as defined in Plaintiffs’ opposition brief, involve the
common question of law of whether Defendant’s alleged failure to
provide accurate information in the Annual Reports and
Illustrations received by the class members constituted a breach

of contract. Accordingly, Plaintiffs have sufficiently met the
low threshold for demonstrating commonality.
C. Rule 23(a)(3): Typicality
While Plaintiffs have satisfied the first two requirements,
the Court finds that they have failed to demonstrate typicality.
“Rule 23(a)(3) requires that the class representatives’ claims
be ‘typical of the claims . . . of the class.’” In re NFL
Players Concussion Injury Litig., 821 F.3d at 427 (quoting Fed.
R. Civ. P. 23(a)(3)). This requirement “ensures the interests
of the class and the class representatives are aligned ‘so that
the latter will work to benefit the entire class through the
pursuit of their own goals.’” Id. at 427-28 (quoting Newton,

259 F.3d at 182-83). Slight factual differences will generally
not preclude a finding of typicality where there is a “strong
similarity of legal theories or where the claim arises from the
same practice or course of conduct.” See In re Prudential Ins.
Co. Am. Sales Practice Litig. Agent Actions, 148 F.3d 283, 311
(3d Cir. 1998) (internal citations omitted).
“[T]he typicality requirement is satisfied as long as
representatives and the class claims arise from the same event
or practice or course of conduct and are based on the same legal
theory.” Beneli, 324 F.R.D. at 97 (citing Brosious v.
Children’s Place Retail Stores, 189 F.R.D. 138, 146 (D.N.J.
1999); Hoxworth v. Blinder, Robinson & Co., 980 F.2d 912, 923

(3d Cir. 1992) (“Factual differences will not render a claim
atypical if the claim arises from the same event or practice of
course of conduct that gives rise to the claims of the class
members, and it is based on the same legal theory.”).
Specifically, the Third Circuit has viewed the typicality
requirement as stating that “(1) the claims of the class
representative must be generally the same as those of the class
in terms of both (a) the legal theory advanced and (b) the
factual circumstances underlying that theory; (2) the class
representative must not be subject to a defense that is both
inapplicable to many members of the class and likely to become a
major focus of the litigation; and (3) the interests and

incentives of the representative must be sufficiently aligned
with those of the class.” In re Schering, 589 F.3d at 599.
Defendant here has challenged Plaintiffs’ showing of
typicality by arguing that Plaintiffs’ claims are subject to
unique individual defenses that render them not typical of the
claims of all putative class members. On this front, “Defendant
carries the burden to ‘show some degree of likelihood a unique
defense will play a significant role at trial.’” Barr v.
Harrah's Entertainment, Inc., 242 F.R.D. 287, 292 (D.N.J. 2007)
(quoting Beck v. Maximus, Inc., 457 F.3d 291, 300 (3d Cir.
2006)).
Defendant here emphasizes multiple unique defenses they

think demonstrate a lack of typicality. First, Defendant argues
that the Bucks have not in fact been damaged by AGLIC’s alleged
breach of their policy. However, Defendant only briefly waves
at this argument in a short, two-sentence paragraph, apparently
relying for the most part on its attempt to explain in its
brief’s statement of facts why the Bucks have not personally
been damaged. While the Court recognizes that Defendant has
expounded at length on the potential issues many potential class
members might face in showing that they have been damaged, those
questions appear more properly suited for predominance analysis
under Rule 23(b)(3) than they do the analysis of typicality
under Rule 23(a)(3). The Court finds that Defendant has simply

not put forth sufficient evidence at this stage to show that the
Bucks are individually subject to this unique defense themselves
in such a way that it threatens to become the focus of the
litigation.
Second, Defendant argues that the Bucks’ claims are not
typical because any damages they might have suffered were self-
inflicted and caused by their own actions in minimally funding
their policy for years and then materially decreasing coverage
in 2008. But Defendant’s attempt to portray these as on-point
defenses betrays a misunderstanding of Plaintiffs’ argument at
this stage in the litigation. As described above, Plaintiffs
have revised their class definitions to only encompass those

policyholders that followed their planned premiums.
Accordingly, their theory appears to be that, if a policyholder
received an Illustration or Annual Report stating that their
policy would remaining DEFRA compliant if they paid certain
planned premiums and then they simply paid those premiums, then
their actions prior to receiving the Illustration or Annual
Report — which would presumably be factored into the information
provided by AGLIC — should not cause a plan to violate DEFRA in
the future. While the Court makes no decision on the merits of
this argument, it does find given this apparent refinement of
Plaintiffs’ theory of liability, Defendant has again failed to
show that these proposed defenses are likely to become a major

focus in this litigation.
However, Defendant has put forth two separate, but
interrelated defenses that show the atypicality of the Bucks’
claims. First, Defendant points out that after the Bucks
reduced their coverage following the request for the September
29, 2008 Illustration, there were no premium payments made on
their account for the entirety of 2019, requiring a back payment
of the full amount at one time — a fact that Plaintiffs admit. 1
(ECF No. 79 at ¶¶ 52-55; ECF No. 83-3, Ex. A at ¶ 17). As
Defendant’s expert notes, “[e]ven minor differences between

actual and planned premiums — with respect to the timing,
frequency, or amount — can have significant consequences on
funding limits under IRC section 7702.” (ECF No. 88-6 at ¶ 27).
Accordingly, the information and forecasts provided in the
Illustrations AGLIC sends policyholders upon request are
extremely dependent on the policyholder following the prescribed
planned premiums to the letter, and on a multitude of other
factors remaining consistent.
Defendant therefore asserts that the extended period in
which the Bucks did not pay their premiums could well cut the
causal chain between the inaccurate Illustration and any damages
they may have suffered. This argument does make sense:

Plaintiffs’ own expert appears to acknowledge that even small
changes can dramatically impact the potential DEFRA compliance
of a policy, (see ECF No. 89-9, Ex. F at ¶ 27), and since the

1 The Court recognizes that Plaintiffs have introduced evidence
purporting to demonstrate that the blame for any delay in the
payment of their premiums lies at the feet of AGLIC. However,
even if the Bucks are correct and they were to defeat this
defense later in this litigation, the question at this stage is
not whether a unique defense will ultimately prevail — it is
whether the unique defense is substantial enough to raise the
risk that its adjudication will dominate this litigation to the
detriment of the claims and arguments that are common to the
class at large.
extra premium amounts paid and stored in the Buck’s cash account
earn 4.5% interest, paying their premiums late and all at once
could potentially throw off the calculations underlying the 2008

Illustration.
Of course, Plaintiffs would likely counter that these
changes should then have shown up in their Annual Reports,
warning them of potential DEFRA violations in the future.
Defendant, however, has additionally argued that Plaintiffs’
claims are atypical and further subject to unique defenses
regarding whether the Bucks’ Annual Reports could have caused
their alleged damages based on their own failure to read and
understand the reports. As Defendant points out, Duane Buck has
admitted he did not read his Annual Reports. (ECF No. 78-14 at
81:6-8). Ann Buck has also conceded that while she read some
reports, she did not read each Annual Report that the Bucks

received; and, importantly, she explicitly acknowledged that “I
think that we looked at them all, but didn't understand them.
So we didn't look at them close enough, I guess.” (ECF No. 78-
15 at 90:10-23). Given the fact that causation is a central
element of any breach of contract claim, questions regarding the
individual factual circumstances underlying the Bucks’ claim
very well may become central at trial.
While the Court makes no finding on the merits regarding
these defenses at the class certification stage, it does find
that they appear substantial enough to provoke concern that “the
representative's interests might not be aligned with those of
the class, [or] the representative might devote time and effort

to the defense at the expense of issues that are common and
controlling for the class.” Beck, 457 F.3d at 297.
Simply put, Defendant has successfully demonstrated that
Plaintiffs may in fact be subject to unique defenses regarding
their own failure to follow the planned premiums outlined in the
2008 Illustration, and whether they actually read or understood
their Annual Reports to a sufficient degree for those reports to
have caused them damage. As Plaintiffs’ own class definitions
and theory of liability are reliant on the idea that most class
members read and understood their Annual Reports or
Illustrations and then followed them closely, Plaintiffs have
failed to meet their burden to demonstrate that their claims are

typical of the claims of the class they seek to represent.
Class certification therefore must be denied as to both the
Damages Class and the Injunctive Class.
D. Rule 23(a)(4): Adequacy
Had Plaintiffs sufficiently demonstrated typicality, the
Court finds that Duane Buck has met the adequacy requirement of
Rule 23(a)(4). A class may not be certified unless the
representative class members “will fairly and adequately protect
the interests of the class.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(a)(4); Beneli,
324 F.R.D. at 98. Rule 23(a)(4)'s adequacy requirement “has two
components designed to ensure that absentees' interests are
fully pursued.” In re Schering, 589 F.3d at 602. “First, the

adequacy inquiry ‘tests the qualifications of the counsel to
represent the class.’” Id. (quoting In re Warfarin Sodium
Antitrust Litig., 391 F.3d 516, 532 (3d Cir. 2004)). Here, no
issue has been raised regarding the adequacy of Plaintiffs’
counsel, and Plaintiffs’ have demonstrated that their counsel
has substantial experience in both class actions and breach of
contract claims in the insurance context and have devoted
significant time and effort to this action. (See generally ECF
No. 68-1, 69-1, and 69-7).
“The second component of the adequacy inquiry seeks ‘to
uncover conflicts of interests between named parties and the
class they seek to represent.’” Id. (quoting In re Warfarin

Sodium Antitrust Litig., 391 F.3d at 532). “The adequacy
inquiry under Rule 23(a)(4) serves to uncover conflicts of
interest between named parties and the class they seek to
represent.” In re NFL Players Concussion Injury Litig., 821
F.3d at 431 (quoting Amchem, 521 U.S. at 625). “The ‘linchpin
of the adequacy requirement is the alignment of interests and
incentives between the representative plaintiffs and the rest of
the class.’” Id. (quoting Dewey v. Volkswagen
Aktiengesellschaft, 681 F.3d 170, 183 (3d Cir. 2012). However,
a class representative must also represent a class capably and
diligently. “[A] minimal degree of knowledge” about the
litigation is adequate. Id. at 430 (quoting New Directions

Treatment Servs. v. City of Reading, 490 F.3d 293, 313 (3d Cir.
2007)) (internal quotation marks omitted).
Here, Defendant raises two central arguments for why it
believes Plaintiffs have failed to demonstrate that the Bucks
are adequate class representatives: (1) Ann Buck is not a member
of the proposed class, and (2) Duane Buck is unfamiliar with
their claims. On the first point, Defendant cites the Court to
the deposition testimony of Ann Buck. There, in response to the
question “Who do you understand is the owner of that policy,”
she replied, “I guess my husband.” (ECF No. 78-15 at 16:17-20).
She then went a step further and explained, in response to being
asked “Why do you think your husband is the owner of the

policy,” that “I think I was listed as a rider and not the
owner, so. But I’m not positive about it.” (Id. at 16:22-
17:3).
Plaintiffs in response argue that the Bucks’ policy
applications make clear that both Duane and Ann are owners of
the policy. They note that the Bucks’ policy states that “The
owner is as shown in the Application unless changed,” (ECF No.
83-18, Ex. 12), and the Application forms submitted by the Bucks
state that “The Proposed Insured shall be the policy owner
unless another owner is named above.” (ECF No. 83-18, Ex. 18).
Plaintiffs then contend that the Applications the Bucks filed
list Duane as the Proposed Insured on one form and Ann as the

Proposed Insured on the other.
The Court’s review of the Application forms attached as
exhibits and cited to by Plaintiffs, however, reveals that both
forms in fact list Duane Buck as the Proposed Insured, include
his signature on the line for the Proposed Insured, and, under
Section 6.D for ADDITIONAL COVERAGES, lists “OIR on Ann Marie
Buck wife 25,000” – meaning that Ann’s coverage was being
provided as an “other insured” rider to the policy owned and
opened by Duane. Id. This fact is only further confirmed by
the copy of the Policy itself that the Bucks attached to their
complaint, which explicitly lists $25,000 of coverage for Ann
Marie Buck as a “RIDER” and “OTHER INSURED” on the policy taken

out by Duane. (See ECF No. 8-1, Ex. A at 20). The documents
cited to by Plaintiffs simply do not support their factual
contention, and instead make clear that the owner and
policyholder of the policy in question here is Duane Buck.
Accordingly, the Court finds that Plaintiffs have failed to
demonstrate by a preponderance of the evidence that Ann Buck is
a member of the classes they seek to have certified and an
adequate representative of those classes.
The remaining question on this factor is then whether the
Duane Buck is familiar enough with the claims in this action to
serve as an adequate class representative. While Defendant is

correct that Duane Buck’s deposition transcript does not appear
to demonstrate a deep, detailed understanding of this
litigation, the Court finds that he is not so unknowledgeable as
to be an inadequate class representative. First, Mr. Buck did
provide an accurate, if highly simplified, explanation of what a
class action is. (ECF No. 78-14 at 21:1-4). Second, contrary
to Defendant’s assertion that he believed his claims were based
on a misrepresentation made in 1984, he responded to a question
to that effect by stating “No, we're misled now. We weren't
misled back then.” Id. at 26:7-14. He further made explicitly
clear that he understood the basis of the Bucks’ claims to be
that they were misled “[t]hat our insurance would last till

around 2040. And now they're saying it's only going to last to
2023” — again, a highly simplified, but generally accurate
description of the most basic, underlying allegation here. Id.
at 22:15-17.
While these answers do not demonstrate a sophisticated
understanding of the complex details involved in this case, they
do not have to. As the Third Circuit has repeatedly made clear,
the real focus of the adequacy requirement is on whether there
is some serious conflict of interest between the proposed
representative and the rest of the class members, and a class
representative need only have a “minimal degree of knowledge.”
New Directions Treatment Servs. v. City of Reading, 490 F.3d

293, 313 (3d Cir. 2007) (quoting Szczubelek v. Cendant Mortgage
Corp., 215 F.R.D. 107, 119 (D.N.J. 2003)). Here, given the fact
that Duane Buck is ably represented by a team of highly
experienced attorneys with substantial practices in both class
actions and insurance-related litigation, the Court will not
find him to be an inadequate representative. See Barr, 242
F.R.D. at 295 (“[A] class representative need not be intimately
familiar with the legal theory behind his claims since he is
represented by adequate counsel.”).
IV. Rule 23(b)(3) Analysis
While the Court’s finding that the named Plaintiffs’ claims
are not typical of the claims of their proposed classes is

sufficient on its own to deny the present motion for
certification, the Court further finds that Plaintiffs’ proposed
Damages Class poses numerous additional difficulties under Rule
23(b)(3). For the sake of thoroughness, the Court will further
address those concerns.
After Rule 23(a) is satisfied, a plaintiff must establish
that the proposed class also satisfies Rule 23(b). For class
certification under Rule 23(b)(3), the Court must find not only
that (1) “questions of law or fact common to class members
predominate over any questions affecting only individual
members,” and (2) that a “class action is superior to other
available methods for fairly and efficiently adjudicating the

controversy,” (Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b)(3); see Beneli, 324 F.R.D.
at 99), but also that the class is “currently and readily
ascertainable based on objective criteria.” Marcus v. BMW of
North America, LLC, 687 F.3d 583, 593 (3d Cir. 2012). In this
case, the Court finds that both the predominance and
ascertainability elements counsel against class certification,
and therefore declines to address the question of superiority.
A. Predominance
Predominance requires “that questions of law or fact common
to the members of the class predominate over any questions
affecting only individual members.” Fed. R. Civ. P. 23(b)(3).
In determining whether common questions predominate, courts have

focused on the claims of liability alleged against defendants.
See Bogosian v. Gulf Oil Corp., 561 F.2d 434, 456 (3d Cir.
1977). Predominance “tests whether proposed classes are
sufficiently cohesive to warrant adjudication by
representation.” In re NFL Players Concussion Injury Litig.,
821 F.3d at 434 (citation omitted).
As this Court stated in its October 31, 2018 Opinion on
Defendant’s motion to dismiss, in order to properly plead a
breach of contract claim, Plaintiffs must show “(1) the
existence of a valid contract between the parties; (2) failure
of the defendant to perform its obligations under the contract;
and (3) a causal relationship between the breach and the

plaintiff’s alleged damages.” (ECF No. 25 at 12) (quoting
Motamed v. Chubb Corp., 15-cv-7262, 2016 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 33301,
at *11-12 (D.N.J. Mar. 15, 2016)). Defendant’s opposition brief
largely focuses on the predominance factor, devoting a
substantial number of pages to its numerous arguments for why
individual questions would predominate over common questions in
any attempt to determine, on a class-wide basis, whether breach
of contract has been proven.
The Third Circuit has “previously noted that the line
dividing ascertainability from predominance is blurry.” Hayes
v. Wal-Mart Stores, Inc., 725 F.3d 349, 359 (3d Cir. 2013)
(citing Marcus, 687 F.3d at 594 n. 3). While the two concepts

do conceptually overlap, “they remain separate prerequisites to
class certification and serve distinct purposes: the
ascertainability requirement focuses on whether individuals
fitting the class definition may be identified without resort to
mini-trials, whereas the predominance requirement focuses on
whether essential elements of the class's claims can be proven
at trial with common, as opposed to individualized, evidence.”
Id. (internal citations omitted). Here, the Court first finds
that Defendant’s predominance objections based on the potential
need for individualized inquiries regarding the specifics terms
of individual contracts, whether individual policyholders
experienced breach of their policy, and whether such breach

caused any alleged damages “all focus on whether putative class
members fit the class definition” and thus are “better analyzed
under the ascertainability framework than the predominance
framework.” Id.
First, Defendant’s opposition brief argues that
predominance has not been shown because individualized review
would be necessary as to the terms of each potential class
member’s specific policy, so as to analyze and determine whether
incorrect information in an Annual Report or Illustration could
even constitute a breach of that policy’s terms. While this may
initially have been a powerful argument that analysis of
individual evidence would predominate over class-wide evidence,

Plaintiffs’ revision of its class definitions appears to have
resolved this potential issue.
In their reply brief, Plaintiffs’ specified that their
Damages Class would only include those policyholders that were
contractually entitled to receive an Annual Report or
Illustration showing forward-looking information regarding their
policies, under the theory of breach that this Court explained
in detail in its earlier Opinion permitting Plaintiffs’ claims
to move past the pleadings stage. While, as Defendants argue
elsewhere, this new definition may simply create additional
concerns regarding whether the members of the proposed Damages
Class are easily ascertainable, the Court finds that the revised

definition clears up this potential question regarding the
predominance element. Simply put, if each class member, by
definition, was contractually required to have received the
forward-looking information in question in their Annual Reports
or an Illustration, then individual evidence regarding whether
the terms of the class members’ contracts entitled them to such
information should certainly not predominate at trial.
Defendant, in its sur-reply brief, further notes that some
of AGLIC’s policies require Annual Reports or Illustrations to
further include “any other data required by the state in which
the policy is delivered,” and argues that accordingly the Court
would need to further analyze the specific language of the

contract and state law to determine which information was
required to be included. However, Defendant has overcomplicated
the question at the heart of this case: Plaintiffs’ central
argument is that if class members were contractually entitled to
forward-looking Illustrations or Annual Reports, and the
information in those Illustrations or Annual Reports was
inaccurate, that alone is sufficient to demonstrate breach.
While individual state laws could theoretically provide for yet
another potential form of liability for breach for those
policyholders whose policies required incorporation of
additional data under state law, analysis of that issue is
separate and distinct from the theory of liability at the center

of this litigation.
Similarly, Plaintiffs’ revision of their Damages Class
definition to only incorporate those policyholders who “merely”
or “materially” paid their planned premiums as outlined in the
Illustration or Annual Report similarly shifts Defendant’s
arguments regarding breach and causation from being questions of
predominance to being questions of ascertainability. While
Defendant has continued to assert that there are individual
questions as to these factors that predominate over common
questions, it appears they have overcomplicated Plaintiffs’
theory of breach in doing so.
With the Damages Class definition revised to include only

those policyholders who paid their planned premiums and made no
other changes, Plaintiffs’ theory as to how breach and causation
can be shown on a class-wide basis is both interconnected and
simpler than Defendants make it out: if a policyholder (1)
received an Illustration or Annual Report that outlined a
specific planned premium and appeared to forecast that the
policy would continue as expected and not fall into a DEFRA
scenario, and the policyholder (2) did nothing else besides pay
the planned premiums set out in the Illustration or Annual
Report, with no changes made to the policy or coverage, then (3)
the policyholder could not have received a DEFRA notice unless
the information in the Illustration or Annual Report was

inaccurate. (See ECF No. 83-3 at ¶ 33). And, as Plaintiff
notes, an individual policyholder’s actions prior to the
reception of the Illustration or Annual Report are beside the
point — if actions taken prior to when AGLIC generated a
policyholder’s forward-looking information regarding planned
premiums and termination dates may have caused a DEFRA scenario,
then one would assume that the Illustration or Annual Report
would have identified that concern, thereby giving the
policyholder an opportunity to take steps to avoid such a
scenario before it arose and before a DEFRA Notice was
necessary.
Therefore, Defendant’s arguments that individual inquiry on

these fronts will be necessary is not truly a question of
predominance. Rather than undermining Plaintiffs’ ability to
show that essential elements of the class's claims can be proven
at trial with common, as opposed to individualized, evidence,
Defendant’s arguments here call into question whether the Court
will be able to readily ascertain who is a policyholder that
“merely” or “materially” followed the planned premiums as
Plaintiffs’ class definition requires. The Court will address
these concerns in its ascertainability analysis instead.
However, while those questions may be better suited for the
ascertainability analysis, Defendant has raised a genuine
concern regarding whether the damages prong of Plaintiffs’

breach of contract claim can be proven at trial through common,
as opposed to individualized, evidence. Plaintiffs, in their
reply briefs, point out that “individual damages calculations do
not preclude class certification under Rule 23(b)(3),” Neale v.
Volvo Cars of N. Am., LLC, 794 F.3d 353, 375 (3d Cir. 2015), and
appear to focus their counter arguments on the reasons why they
believe they have shown sufficient, valid methods for
calculating individual policyholder’s damages, or for resorting
to rescission in cases where such damages may be impossible to
properly calculate.
However, as the Third Circuit has previously explained,
“when courts speak of ‘damages,’ they are often referring to two

distinct concepts: the ‘fact of damage’ and the measure/amount
of damages.” Harnish v. Widener University School of Law, 833
F.3d 298, 305 (3d Cir. 2016). Plaintiffs’ contention regarding
damages calculations is accurate. But “the putative class must
first demonstrate . . . the fact of damage [] ‘on a common
basis.’” Id. at 306 (quoting Newton, 259 F.3d at 189).
While Defendant has separately raised arguments regarding
the ability to calculate individual damages, Plaintiffs appear
to have largely ignored the question raised as to whether they
can prove such fact of injury for all class members. Breach of
contract claims require the plaintiff to have suffered damage.
Red Roof Franchising, LLC v. Patel, 877 F. Supp. 2d 124, 131

(D.N.J. 2012). The question here then is whether the Damages
Class would be able to prove this element — namely, that class
members were damaged by the allegedly inaccurate information
provided in their Annual Report or Illustration — through the
introduction of evidence at trial that is common to the class,
rather than requiring “individualized evidence [that will] later
overwhelm the case and render it unsuitable for class-wide
adjudication.” Id. at 305.
In determining whether issues that are ‘susceptible to
generalized, class-wide proof’ are ‘more prevalent or
important,’ a district court is called to ‘formulate some
prediction as to how specific issues will play out ... in a

given case.’” Id. at 304 (quoting In re Hydrogen Peroxide
Antitrust Litig., 552 F.3d 305, 311 (3d Cir. 2008)). While a
court’s analysis under this standard may sometimes appear close
to a merits determination, it is not one — the Court’s duty at
this stage is not to make a final determination regarding
whether Plaintiffs can prove any element of their breach of
contract claim, but to assess whether “the plaintiffs' proposed
class-wide theories and evidence would be sufficient to address
the predominant issues in the case,” or if there is a serious
risk that individual issues will ultimately predominate at
trial. Id. at 305.
Here, Defendant argues that Plaintiffs simply cannot show

fact of injury on a class-wide basis. AGLIC’s basic explanation
is simple: many policyholders who have received a DEFRA notice
have not actually suffered damage as a result of receiving a
DEFRA notice. To properly explain and assess the first of
Defendant’s arguments on this front, the Court finds it
necessary at this stage to outline a further dispute between the
parties regarding the specific factual circumstances faced by
different policyholders who have received DEFRA notices.
Defendant and its experts have asserted in this action that
the group of policyholders that have received DEFRA notices
under Plaintiffs’ Damages Class definition can and should be
conceptually split into two separate groups: those who have

received so-called “Temporary” DEFRA Notices and those who have
received “Permanent” DEFRA Notices. According to Lana
Marquette, Vice President and Head of Decision Support for
AGLIC, DEFRA compliance is monitored by keeping track of the
Guideline Premium Limitation (“GPL”), which is “essentially a
legal limitation on the amount of premiums that can be paid into
a universal life policy” based on a series of factors that are
not relevant to this analysis. (ECF No. 79 at ¶ 12).
Marquette, as well as Brian King, Managing Director in the
Insurance and Actuarial Advisory Services Practice of Ernst &
Young LLP’s Financial Services Office, explain that, in general,

a Temporary DEFRA Notice will be sent to a policyholder who
attempts to make a premium payment that would cause their
cumulative premium payment amount to exceed the GPL. In the
Temporary DEFRA scenario, the account remains tax-advantaged
life insurance, but policyholders may be prohibited from
contributing more premiums for a temporary period, and AGLIC
sends the policyholder a letter “stating that the payment cannot
be made and that payments must be temporarily limited, usually
to the next policy anniversary.” (Id. at ¶¶ 14-16; ECF No. 80
at ¶ 51).
A Permanent DEFRA Notice, on the other hand, is generally
sent to a policyholder when “a significant reduction in

coverage” is made, which reduces GPL amount on a yearly basis
until it eventually falls below the cumulative amount of
premiums already paid by the policyholder. (ECF No. 79 at ¶
14). Therefore, for the policy to remain tax-advantaged life
insurance, policyholders are not only restricted from paying
future premiums, but excess premiums in the cash account, if
any, must be refunded to the policyholder each year commensurate
with each decrease in the GPL. (Id. at ¶ 16; ECF No. 80 at ¶¶
54-55). When this occurs, AGLIC “sends the policyholder a
letter advising that payments are permanently limited and
providing the policyholder various options.” (ECF No. 79 at ¶
15).

Plaintiff, unsurprisingly, has disputed this distinction,
referring to AGLIC’s “unavailing” “attempt to create two
fabricated terms in order to create distinction between them.”
(ECF No. 89 at 17). And their own expert has similarly
disagreed with the explanations of Defendant’s experts, stating
that “IRC §7702 does not make any such distinction,” and that “I
contend, a violation is a violation.” (ECF No. 89-9, Ex. F. at
¶¶ 24-25).
At this point, it is worthwhile to re-state the burden of
persuasion present on a motion to certify class: Plaintiffs here
bear the burden of demonstrating, by a preponderance of the
evidence, that common issues predominate in this litigation over

individual issues of specific class members. If Plaintiffs
cannot show under that standard that this distinction either
does not exist, or that, even if it does, the distinction
between Permanent and Temporary DEFRA scenarios does not
necessarily create further individual issues that will need to
be addressed in this litigation that would therefore defeat
predominance, then they have failed to meet their ultimate
burden to certify the Damages Class.
In ruling on Plaintiffs’ motion to certify class, the Court
does not reach any final conclusion at this stage regarding
which party is correct as to Defendant’s proffered distinction

between different members of the Damages Class. However, having
reviewed the parties’ arguments and proffered expert analysis on
this subject, the Court finds that, at the very least, Defendant
has put forth a colorable, persuasive basis for its proposed
distinction, which Plaintiff has failed to rebut by a
preponderance of the evidence.
First, a comparison between the DEFRA notice received by
Plaintiffs, who all parties agree would fall within the
Permanent DEFRA group, and an example of a Temporary DEFRA
notice introduced into the record by Defendant, only supports
the distinction as explained by Defendant. As outlined by
Marquette and King, Plaintiffs’ DEFRA Notice informed them that

their 2008 coverage reduction, combined with their premium
payment history, has caused their policy to exceed its GPL, and
presented Plaintiffs with a series of options for immediate
modifications to their policy to retain tax-advantaged status;
the sample Temporary Notice, on the other hand, informed that
policyholder that they had reached the maximum premium payments
allowed under DEFRA guidelines, and that accordingly additional
payments would not be accepted until their cash value had been
depleted, which was projected to occur in around 18 months.
Compare (ECF No. 8-3) (Plaintiffs’ Permanent DEFRA Notice) with
(ECF No. 78-3, Ex. 38 at AGLIC-BUCK-058624) (example of a
Temporary DEFRA Notice).

Second, and perhaps more importantly, Defendant, through
the reports of Marquette and King, have thoroughly outlined the
basis for their arguments regarding the distinction between
Temporary and Permanent DEFRA scenarios, explaining in great
detail the underlying considerations and calculations that AGLIC
takes into account before sending out the different forms of
DEFRA Notice. Plaintiffs’ expert, on the other hand, only
quibbles generally with Marquette and King’s explanations, or
lack thereof, of certain concepts, and notes that IRC § 7702
does not itself reference any such distinction. In fact, his
direct response to Defendant’s extensive explanation of the
distinction appears to span only two paragraphs, and fails to

persuasively counter the reports of King and Marquette: he does
not truly address their explanations head on, explain exactly
why these distinctions do not exist or why Defendant’s
explanations of their impact are incorrect, or provide any
alternative explanation for the separate forms of DEFRA notices
AGLIC sends to policyholders. Accordingly, the Court will take
into account the distinction between Permanent and Temporary
DEFRA scenarios in analyzing whether Plaintiff has met
sufficiently demonstrated the predominance element of Rule
23(b)(3).
Unsurprisingly, that distinction carries weight in this

analysis. Defendant asserts that many, if not all,
policyholders who have received Temporary DEFRA Notices have not
actually been damaged. While they are temporarily limited from
paying further premiums, those limits are eventually lifted —
and, importantly, “[b]y paying more in premiums sooner than they
otherwise might have, their policies have greater cash value
than had they been funded at lower levels and not received a
Temporary DEFRA Letter.” (ECF No. 88 at 13). In support of
this argument, Defendant has submitted a supplemental report
from King, which walks through the underlying calculations and
makes a persuasive argument for why many such policyholders in
the so-called Temporary DEFRA Scenario would not only not have

suffered damage, but in fact would “have greater cash value” in
their accounts than they would have had otherwise, “which will
generate more interest over the life of the policy.” (ECF No.
88-6 at ¶¶ 12-16).
In response, Plaintiffs’ expert, for the most part, makes
no attempt to dispute or disprove King’s analysis or
calculations, or to show that policyholders in the Temporary
DEFRA scenario have not benefitted financially. He does,
admittedly, argue that this analysis ignores the fact that such
policyholders may suffer due to their “Guaranteed Termination
Dates” changing, which could cause harm through “planning errors
with respect to estate planning, family planning, financial

planning, and the like.” (ECF No. 89-9, Ex. F at ¶ 28).
However, Plaintiffs’ expert not only fails to support this
contention beyond stating that “[i]n my opinion, the additional
premium payments will eventually reflect different Guaranteed
Termination Dates on subsequent annual reports,” he also makes
no attempt to demonstrate how such damage might be shown on a
class-wide basis using common evidence, as opposed to requiring
individual class members to prove damage using individual
evidence.
Defendant notes that even some policyholders who enter the
Permanent DEFRA Scenario may in fact benefit as well. As most
AGLIC policies have a level “death benefit,” the “cash value

remaining in the policy at the time of an insured’s death is not
added to the death benefit” that is paid out by the policy.
(ECF No. 74 at 49). Accordingly, when an insured dies after a
policy enters the Permanent DEFRA Scenario, Defendant argues
that they avoid having paid the premiums they would have
otherwise lost when the death benefit was paid out, because the
DEFRA Notice, and its concurrent restriction on paying further
premiums, stops them from doing so. Based on this line of
thinking, those class members that are beneficiaries or estates
of deceased policyholders may need to demonstrate that they did
not ultimately save money from having entered a DEFRA violation
scenario. Plaintiffs, for their part, do not appear to address

this argument or the potential individualized evidence it may
require at trial.
As the Court has noted repeatedly, Plaintiffs bear the
burden here of demonstrating, by a preponderance of the
evidence, that the Damages Class’s breach of contract claim is
provable via class-wide evidence and a cognizable class-wide
theory of damage. The Court finds that they have failed to do
so, and that Defendant has persuasively shown the serious risk
that individualized evidence and theories of damage might
ultimately overwhelm a class-action trial.
B. Ascertainability
The Court further finds that Plaintiffs motion fails under

the ascertainability prong as well. “Many courts and
commentators have recognized that an essential prerequisite of a
class action, at least with respect to actions under Rule
23(b)(3), is that the class must be currently and readily
ascertainable based on objective criteria.” Grubb v. Green Tree
Servicing, LLC, 2017 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 117465, at *47 (quoting
Marcus v. BMW of N. Am., LLC, 687 F.3d at 592-93) (internal
citations omitted). The Third Circuit, for example, has held
that this requirement serves significant objectives. See id.
“First, it eliminates serious administrative burdens that are
incongruous with the efficiencies expected in a class action by
insisting on the easy identification of class members.” Id. at

*48 (quoting Marcus v. BMW of N. Am., LLC, 687 F.3d at 592-93).
Second, “it protects absent class members by facilitating the
best notice practicable under Rule 23(c)(2) in a Rule 23(b)(3)
action.” Id. (quoting Marcus v. BMW of N. Am., LLC, 687 F.3d at
592-93) (internal citation and quotation marks omitted).
Finally, an ascertainable class “protects defendants by ensuring
that those persons who will be bound by the final judgment are
clearly identifiable.” Id. (quoting Marcus v. BMW of N. Am.,
LLC, 687 F.3d at 592-93).
To demonstrate ascertainability, the Third Circuit requires
a plaintiff to show: (1) the class is defined with reference to
objective criteria, and (2) there is a reliable and

administratively feasible mechanism for determining whether
putative class members fall within the class definition. Id.
(citing Byrd v. Aaron’s Inc., 784 F.3d 154, 163 (3d Cir. 2015)).
A plaintiff need not identify every class member at the class
certification stage but must simply show that “class members can
be identified.” Id. (quoting Byrd, 784 F.3d at 163).
As described above, Plaintiffs here have chosen, through
their revisions to the Damages Class definition in their reply
brief, to exchange potential predominance questions for a host
of ascertainability issues. First, it appears that, given the
inclusion of a “contractually entitled” requirement in
Plaintiffs’ revised class definition, ascertaining which

policyholders qualify as class members may require repeated
review of individual contracts to determine whether they
actively required AGLIC to send Annual Reports or Illustrations
containing the information at the center of this case.
Plaintiffs contend that this is not the case, pointing to
the fact that a high percentage of the policyholders that they
have currently identified as potential class members had
policies with language nearly identical to that of the Buck
Policy. Accordingly, Plaintiffs seem to argue that Defendant is
being disingenuous in implying that it would be difficult to
ascertain class members, because they of course should be able
to easily determine which policyholders have policies based on

the specific Policy Forms already identified.
However, it appears that Plaintiffs have largely missed the
point Defendant has attempted to make. The Court agrees that it
seems unlikely that AGLIC would be incapable of determining
which policyholders’ policies used the same form contract as the
Buck Policy as their base, or that class certification should be
denied simply because it might take genuine manual effort on
AGLIC’s part to compile a comprehensive list. Were the Damages
Class definition confined only to those policyholders with that
specific language in their policy, Plaintiffs might be correct
that ascertainability should not be a true issue.
But that is not the class definition Plaintiffs have put

forth. Instead, the proposed Damages Class would encompass any
and all AGLIC policyholders who were “contractually entitled” to
an Annual Report or Illustration that included specific
“forward-looking” information — regardless of whether the
contractual entitlement was created by the inclusion of the
specific language found in the Buck Policy, or through some
other entirely different contractual formulation or combination
of separate contractual provisions. While Plaintiffs’ breach of
contract claim here has been allowed to proceed past the
pleadings stage, that required the Court to analyze the
specific, separate provisions of the Buck Policy to determine if
they had sufficiently plead that they had a contractual right

that could have been breached. Defendant has pointed out that
the specific form contracts that include the language relied
upon by Plaintiffs here are only 38 of more than one thousand
different Policy Forms utilized at different times by AGLIC and
the dozens of previously separate companies it now comprises.
(See ECF No. 88-1 at ¶¶ 2-8).
And, as the small number of policies currently before the
Court make clear, the terms may vary enough from one policy to
the next so as to make it impossible to ascertain based on only
a quick scan of the specific contract whether it bestowed the
contractual requirements at the core of the Damages Class
definition.

As just one example, Defendant’s Exhibit 7 is a policy
which, from the Court’s review, appears to include language
requiring the provision of a forward-looking Illustration upon
request that is identical to that of the Buck Policy; however,
while the policy does require the provision of an annual report,
its language is different and does not appear to include any
requirement that the report include the types of forward-looking
information Plaintiffs base their claims on here. (ECF No. 75-
11, Ex. 7 at 16-17). Defendant’s Appendix A further
demonstrates the variety to be found in only a small number of
policies introduced into the record at this stage, again making
up a small percentage of the apparently vast universe of

different policy forms that the dozens of previously separate
companies that now comprise AGLIC have offered to customers over
the course of decades. (ECF No. 75-1).
Plaintiffs argue that Defendant should simply be able to
check its records to see, for example, which policyholders had
Illustrations sent to them, and brush off Defendant’s contention
that AGLIC has sent Illustrations and Annual Reports with
forward-looking information even to some policyholders whose
policies did not contractually entitle them to such information.
While Plaintiffs seem to believe such an occurrence to be
extremely unlikely, the Court disagrees; especially in an
industry where many policyholders may be working with an

insurance agent who has a deeper understanding of life insurance
and the types of information useful to consider when deciding
whether to alter your coverage or premium payments — as the
Bucks here did — it seems entirely plausible, if not almost
likely, that even some policyholders who did not have an
explicit contractual right might, through their agent, request
such information in an Illustration and ultimately receive it.
Plaintiffs have put forth no evidence to show that this highly
plausible scenario could not have occurred, nor persuasively
explained how a simple pulling of such records would
sufficiently answer a question that required this Court’s
analysis in its October 31, 2018 Opinion to determine for the

Buck Policy.
Accordingly, to determine whether policyholders with any of
the other 950+ policy forms were similarly “contractually
entitled” to Annual Reports or Illustrations with this specific
information, the Court very well may need to engage in
individualized factual review of the specific policies of those
policyholders, and determine on a repeated basis whether
separate policies actually created such a contractual
entitlement. This form of “file-by-file review” to determine
which policyholders had contractual entitlements that would
render them a potential class member very well could amount to
the type of “‘mini-trial[s]’ and ‘individualized fact-finding’

that undermines ascertainability and makes class treatment
inappropriate.” Coleman v. Commonwealth Land Title Ins. Co.,
318 F.R.D. 275, 292 (E.D. Pa. 2016). Plaintiffs bear the burden
of demonstrating, by a preponderance of the evidence, that the
Court will not find itself in such a situation. The Court finds
that they have failed to do so, and accordingly their Damages
Class cannot be certified.
And this is not the only ascertainability issue as to the
proposed Damages Class. Plaintiffs’ class definition does not
only require that class members have been contractually entitled
to specific forward-looking information in their Illustrations
or Annual Reports; it also requires that they followed the

planned premiums outlined in the Illustration or Annual Reports
they received. However, Plaintiffs’ reply brief and sur-reply
brief make clear that their proposed Class does not truly
comprise all policyholders who paid their premiums — instead,
they mean their class to comprise those policyholders who only
followed the planned premiums in their Illustration or Annual
Report, without making any other changes or taking other actions
that could impact the assumptions underlying the forward-looking
information AGLIC had provided them. As the Court explained in
its predominance analysis, this further restriction of the
proposed class does make some sense: without it, Plaintiffs
would undoubtedly face serious hurdles in proving by a

preponderance of the evidence that a trial would not devolve
into an extensive, wide-ranging attempt to adjudicate the
specific premium payments, coverage reductions, and other policy
changes made by different individual policyholders after the
reception of their Illustration or Annual Report, and the extent
to which those changes might be the true cause of a policy
entering a DEFRA scenario.
But this new constricting of the proposed class definition
raises two other issues. First, it does not appear to provide a
clearly objective and readily applied manner for determining
which potential class members actually meet this requirement.
At different points in their briefing and in their expert

reports, Plaintiffs refer to both policyholders who were “merely
following the Planned Premiums,” (ECF No. 83 at 1), and to
policyholders for whom there was “no subsequent change in the
face amount or riders or benefit options, and no material
deviation in the amount of the payments of planned premiums.”
(ECF No. 83-3, Ex. A at ¶ 33). However, Plaintiffs fail to
clearly define what they mean by “merely” or “material” in this
context.
If the proposed class definition is only meant to include
those individuals who strictly and exactingly followed their
planned premium payment schedule with no other changes, as

implied by Plaintiffs’ expert, then at the very least that
should be somewhat easily determined by a review of AGLIC’s
records. However, as Defendant notes, Plaintiffs must not mean
that to be their class definition, because if so, Duane Buck
himself would not appear to be a class member due to the
extended period in which planned premium payments were not made
on his account — regardless of whether the Bucks or AGLIC was at
fault for those late payments.
And if the Damages Class might include those policyholders
who closely followed their planned premiums but made some
undefined changes or took some other undefined actions,
Plaintiffs have only managed to introduce yet another possible

need for extensive, individualized fact-finding in this
litigation. Relatedly, Plaintiffs’ expert, at one point in his
supplemental report, states his belief that “[i]f any change is
enough to cause a DEFRA violation, then it is definitely a
‘material deviation.’” (ECF No. 89-9, Ex. F at ¶ 27). Rather
than supporting Plaintiffs’ view here, however, this added color
only further underlines the extent of the ascertainability
problem with the Damages Class: requiring proof that a class
member did not make any changes to their coverage or premium
payments that caused a DEFRA violation, in a class that consists
only of members whose policies have violated DEFRA, would
guarantee that the Court and the parties would need to engage in

the exact form of individual fact-finding the ascertainability
requirement is meant to avoid.
Simply put, without a bright, easily applied line between
class members and non-class members, the Court would risk of
being drawn into a process of mini-trials to determine exactly
whether individual policyholders had followed the planned
premium payments outlined in their specific Illustrations or
Annual Reports closely enough to qualify as a member of the
Damages Class. For this reason as well, the Court finds that
Plaintiffs have failed to meet their burden to demonstrate that
the Damages Class is “currently and readily ascertainable based
on objective criteria.” Marcus, 687 F.3d at 593.

CONCLUSION
For the reasons expressed above, Defendant’s motion to
certify class (ECF No. 68) will be denied.
An appropriate Order will follow.

Date: February 25, 2021 /s Noel L. Hillman
At Camden, New Jersey NOEL L. HILLMAN, U.S.D.J.

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10270047. Public record. Not legal advice.
