# Kienow v. Dir., Dept. of Job & Family Servs.

> Ohio Court of Appeals · June 17, 2024 · 245 N.E.3d 937

URL: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10034121

## Case

- **Court:** Ohio Court of Appeals
- **Decided:** June 17, 2024
- **Citations:** 245 N.E.3d 937; 2024 Ohio 2306
- **Precedential status:** Published
- **Opinion:** Opinion
- **Judges:** S. Powell
- **Cited by:** 0 later opinions in the Frix Law Library

## Citator (automated)

- No negative treatment found by the automated citator. That is not the same as a confirmation that the case is good law; read the citing cases.
- Full citator and citing cases: https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10034121

## Opinion text

[Cite as Kienow v. Dir., Dept. of Job & Family Servs., 2024-Ohio-2306.]

IN THE COURT OF APPEALS

TWELFTH APPELLATE DISTRICT OF OHIO

BUTLER COUNTY

GLORIA KIENOW, :

Appellant, : CASE NO. CA2024-01-005

: OPINION
- vs - 6/17/2024
:

DIRECTOR, DEPARTMENT OF JOB :
AND FAMILY SERVICES, et al.,
:
Appellee.

CIVIL APPEAL FROM BUTLER COUNTY COURT OF COMMON PLEAS
Case No. CV 2022 03 0441

Tobias, Torchia & Simon, and David Torchia, for appellant.

Dave Yost, Attorney General of Ohio, and Robin A. Jarvis, Senior Assistant Attorney
General, for appellee.

S. POWELL, P.J.

{¶ 1} Appellant, Gloria Kienow, appeals the decision of the Butler County Court

of Common Pleas affirming the decision of the Unemployment Compensation Review

Commission disallowing her two applications for unemployment compensation benefits

in accordance with R.C. 4141.29(D)(2)(a) upon finding she had quit her job at Atrium

Medical Center, Inc. ("Atrium") without just cause. For the reasons outlined below, we

affirm the common pleas court's decision.
Butler CA2024-01-005

Facts and Procedural History

{¶ 2} On May 31, 2016, Kienow started working for Premier Health as a Quality

Improvement Supervisor at Miami Valley Hospital located in Dayton, Ohio. The following

year, on July 28, 2017, upon her being hired into a new position as a Quality Improvement

Spec-RN at Atrium located in Middletown, Ohio, Kienow signed a memorandum of

understanding with her employer, Premier Health. That memorandum of understanding

initially stated the following:

Your continuation in this position of Quality Improvement
Spec-RN is contingent upon the successful completion of a
Bachelor (BSN) or Master's Degree (MSN). We will provide
you five (5) years from your original start date of May 31, 2016
to satisfy this requirement. Successful completion is
determined by the school. You will be required to provide
documentation of your degree to HR and your hiring manager.

● Five years, May 31, 2021

● Must have successfully completed your Bachelor
(BSN) or Master's Degree (MSN).

{¶ 3} That memorandum of understanding also stated:

This Agreement will be filed in your employee file and the HR
file. Your manager will discuss your progress at your
scheduled one-on-one meetings. If your degree is not met by
the given date, you will have to forfeit the position and it will
be posted for other candidates. This requirement is
independent of your work performance. In other words, you
may be exceeding in your job performance, however, if the
degree is not met, you would still have to forfeit the position.

{¶ 4} On March 11, 2021, more than two months prior to the May 31, 2021 degree

requirement deadline, Kienow sent her supervisor a resignation letter. Within that letter,

Kienow advised her supervisor that she was quitting her position at Atrium effective

immediately. Kienow did not state any reason for her immediate resignation. However,

upon Atrium's request, Kienow agreed to stay on and work for an additional two weeks,

thereby resulting in Kienow officially leaving the employ of Atrium on March 24, 2021.

-2-
Butler CA2024-01-005

There is no dispute that Kienow had at that time completed just four classes towards

obtaining her degree in accordance with the terms of the memorandum of understanding

set forth above.

{¶ 5} Upon quitting her job at Atrium, and due to certain procedural issues

unrelated to this appeal, Kienow filed two applications for unemployment compensation

benefits with the commission. Kienow filed these two applications on March 24 and April

26, 2021, respectively. The following year, on January 6, 2022, the commission held a

joint hearing on Kienow's two applications. Following this hearing, on January 26, 2022,

the commission issued a decision disallowing both applications. In so doing, the

commission determined that Kienow had quit her job at Atrium without just cause and

was therefore not qualified to receive any unemployment compensation benefits in

accordance with to R.C. 4141.29(D)(2)(a).

{¶ 6} On March 24, 2022, Kienow filed a notice of appeal from the commission's

decision with the common pleas court. Over a year later, on December 11, 2023, the

common pleas court issued a decision affirming the commission's decision to disallow

Kienow's two unemployment applications in their entirety.

Kienow's Appeal and Single Assignment of Error Presented for Review

{¶ 7} On January 8, 2024, Kienow filed a timely notice of appeal from the common

pleas court's decision. Following briefing from both parties, Kienow's appeal was

submitted to this court for consideration on May 8, 2024. Kienow's appeal now properly

before this court for decision, Kienow has raised one assignment of error for review. In

her single assignment of error, Kienow argues the common pleas court erred by affirming

the commission's decision to disallow her two applications for unemployment

compensation benefits pursuant to R.C. 4141.29(D)(2)(a). We disagree.

Standard of Review in Unemployment Compensation Cases

-3-
Butler CA2024-01-005

{¶ 8} "The common pleas court and this court utilize the same, limited standard

of review in unemployment compensation cases." Watts v. Community Health Ctrs. of

Greater Dayton, 12th Dist. Warren No. CA2015-07-068, 2015-Ohio-5314, ¶ 12. That is,

when reviewing the commission's decision to disallow an application for unemployment

compensation benefits both this court and the common pleas court must affirm the

commission's decision "unless it is unlawful, unreasonable, or against the manifest weight

of the evidence." Harmon v. Ohio Dept. of Job & Family Servs., 12th Dist. Butler No.

CA2021-08-105, 2022-Ohio-1142, ¶ 16, citing Tzangas, Plakas & Mannos v. Ohio Bur. of

Emp. Servs., 73 Ohio St.3d 694, 696 (1995). This standard is set forth in R.C.

4141.282(H), which states:

The court shall hear the appeal on the certified record
provided by the commission. If the court finds that the
decision of the commission was unlawful, unreasonable, or
against the manifest weight of the evidence, it shall reverse,
vacate, or modify the decision, or remand the matter to the
commission. Otherwise, the court shall affirm the decision of
the commission.

{¶ 9} When considering whether the commission's decision was against the

manifest weight of the evidence, we are instructed to apply the same manifest weight of

the evidence standard that is used in the criminal context. Marinich v. Lumpkin, 12th Dist.

Warren No. CA2011-11-124, 2012-Ohio-4526, ¶ 20. Applying that standard to the case

at bar, we must therefore weigh the evidence and all reasonable inferences, consider the

credibility of witnesses, and determine whether in resolving conflicts in the evidence, the

commission clearly lost its way and created such a manifest miscarriage of justice that its

decision must be reversed. Odom Industries, Inc. v. Shoupe, 12th Dist. Clermont No.

CA2013-09-069, 2014-Ohio-2120, ¶ 11. This court, however, is not permitted to make

our own factual findings or determinations regarding the credibility of the witnesses.

Warren Cty. Aud. v. Harpur, 12th Dist. Warren No. CA2016-01-003, 2016-Ohio-7547, ¶

-4-
Butler CA2024-01-005

12. This court is merely tasked with determining whether the commission's decision is

supported by the evidence in the record. Warren Cty. Aud. v. Sexton, 12th Dist. Warren

No. CA2006-10-124, 2007-Ohio-7081, ¶ 25. Accordingly, rather than the common pleas

court's decision, this court must instead focus on the commission's decision and the

question of whether the commission's decision is supported by the record. Shepherd

Color Co. v. Dir., Ohio Dept. of Job & Family Servs., 12th Dist. Butler No. CA2012-11-

244, 2013-Ohio-2393, ¶ 19.

Kienow Quit Her Job at Atrium Without Just Cause

{¶ 10} The commission in this case disallowed Kienow's two applications for

unemployment compensation benefits upon finding she had quit her job at Atrium without

just cause, thereby disqualifying her from receiving any unemployment benefits in

accordance with R.C. 4141.29(D)(2)(a). Pursuant to that statute, except in certain

circumstances inapplicable here, no individual may be paid unemployment benefits where

the individual "quit work without just cause or has been discharged for just cause in

connection with the individual's work * * *." Thus, given the plain language set forth within

R.C. 4141.29(D)(2)(a), "claimants who quit without just cause are ineligible to receive

unemployment benefits." Gbortoe v. Dir., Ohio Dept. of Job & Family Servs., 10th Dist.

Franklin No. 23AP-329, 2023-Ohio-4844, ¶ 12. "The word 'quit,' for purposes of

unemployment compensation, connotes a voluntary act of the employee not controlled by

the employer." Watts, 2015-Ohio-5314 at ¶ 15, citing Caudill v. Ashland Oil Co., 9 Ohio

Misc.2d 16, 17 (Clermont C.P.1983).

{¶ 11} What constitutes "just cause" is not statutorily defined. Western-Southern

Life Ins. Co. v. Fridley, 69 Ohio App.3d 190, 193 (1st Dist.1990). However, although not

defined by statute, as noted by the Ohio Supreme Court, the term "just cause" in this

context means "that which, to an ordinarily intelligent person, is a justifiable reason for

-5-
Butler CA2024-01-005

doing or not doing a particular act." Warrensville Heights v. Jennings, 58 Ohio St.3d 206,

207 (1991). "The determination of just cause depends upon the 'unique factual

considerations' of a particular case and is therefore primarily an issue for the trier of fact."

Lippert v. Lumpkin, 12th Dist. Butler No. CA2010-01-004, 2010-Ohio-5809, ¶ 33, quoting

Irvine v. Unemp. Comp. Bd. of Rev., 19 Ohio St.3d 15, 17 (1985). Therefore, rather than

this court, factual questions remain solely within the commission's province. Odom

Industries, 2014-Ohio-2120 at ¶ 12.

{¶ 12} Upon review of the record, we find the commission's decision finding

Kienow had quit her job at Atrium without just cause is not unlawful, unreasonable, or

against the manifest weight of the evidence. The commission's decision is instead fully

supported by the record in this case. This includes the commission's decision finding, in

pertinent part, the following:

Even assuming that Claimant would have been discharged on
or shortly after May 31, 2021, Claimant could have continued
employment in the months leading up to that date and sought
alternative employment. In doing so, Claimant could have
received reliable ongoing income. Instead, Claimant elected
to quit employment resulting in no guaranteed support for
themselves.

{¶ 13} This is in addition to the commission's decision finding:

The evidence does not establish that the Employer's
expectations or Claimant's working conditions were
unreasonable. While Claimant may have been likely to be
discharged several months later, that potential discharge
does not establish just cause to quit employment months
before that possible discharge. Accordingly, Claimant quit
work without just cause.

{¶ 14} We find no error in the commission's decision. See, e.g., Watts, 2015-Ohio-

5314 at ¶ 21 (affirming commission's decision denying appellant's application for

unemployment compensation benefits where appellant's discharge was not as "imminent

or inevitable" as she alleged, thereby supporting the commission's decision finding

-6-
Butler CA2024-01-005

appellant "quit too soon" and without just cause without first availing herself of the

opportunity to meet her employer's expectations or explain to her employer why its

expectations were unreasonable); and Gbortoe, 2023-Ohio-4844 at ¶ 14 (affirming

commission's decision denying appellant's application for unemployment compensation

benefits where the record established "that appellant could have continued working for

employer but instead chose to quit"). This holds true despite Kienow's reasonable

disagreement with the commission's decision and its findings set forth therein.

{¶ 15} This court "may not reverse the commission's decision simply because

reasonable minds might reach different conclusions." Lang v. Dir., Ohio Dept. of Job &

Family Servs., 134 Ohio St.3d 296, 2012-Ohio-5366, ¶ 11. Rather, as noted above, this

court must affirm the commission's decision finding an employee quit work without just

cause if "some competent, credible evidence in the record supports it." Barrett v. Dir.,

Ohio Dept. of Job & Family Servs., 10th Dist. Franklin No. 21AP-532, 2022-Ohio-2152, ¶

21. Therefore, because the commission's decision finding Kienow had quit her job at

Atrium without just cause is fully supported by the record in this case, the commission's

decision to disallow Kienow's two applications for unemployment compensation benefits

is not unlawful, unreasonable, or against the manifest weight of the evidence. To the

extent Kienow claims otherwise, such argument lacks merit.

Atrium Had Just Cause to Discharge Kienow on May 31, 2021 Had She Not Quit

{¶ 16} In reaching this decision, we note our disagreement with Kienow's argument

that this is in actuality an "inevitable discharge" case that requires this court to determine

whether Atrium would have had just cause to discharge her on May 31, 2021 had she not

quit. But, even assuming that this was such a case, the Ohio Supreme Court has already

determined that "[u]nsuitability for a position constitutes fault sufficient to support a just-

cause discharge." Williams v. Ohio Dept. of Job & Family Servs., 129 Ohio St.3d 332,

-7-
Butler CA2024-01-005

2011-Ohio-2897, ¶ 24. The Ohio Supreme Court has also determined that an employer

may properly find an employee unsuitable for the required work, and thus at fault for his

or her own termination, when: (1) the employee does not perform the required work; (2)

the employer made known its expectations of the employee at the time of hiring; (3) the

expectations were reasonable; and (4) the requirements of the job did not change

substantially since the date of the original hiring for that particular position. Tzangas,

Plakas & Mannos v. Ohio Bur. of Emp. Servs., 73 Ohio St.3d 694 (1995), paragraph four

of the syllabus. Given these principles, the Ohio Supreme Court has expressly held that:

when employment is expressly conditioned upon obtaining or
maintaining a license or certification and an employee agrees
to the condition and is afforded a reasonable opportunity to
obtain or maintain the license or certification, an employee's
failure to comply with that condition is just cause for
termination for unemployment compensation purposes.

Williams at ¶ 27.

{¶ 17} In Williams, the Ohio Supreme Court applied the four-part test set forth

above when determining whether an employee was suitable for a position that required

the employee to pass an exam to obtain a license certifying her as an independent social

worker ("LISW"). Id., 2011-Ohio-2897 at ¶ 25. The employer gave the employee 15

months to pass the exam, which the employer later extended due to concerns regarding

the employee's health. Id. However, when the employee was still unable to pass the

exam, the employer discharged the employee for failing to obtain the necessary license

within the required 15-month timeframe. Id. at ¶ 4. The Ohio Supreme Court determined

that the employee's termination was done with just cause, thereby forestalling the

employee from receiving unemployment benefits pursuant to R.C. 4141.29(D)(2)(a). Id.

at ¶ 26. In so holding, the Ohio Supreme Court stated:

There were no outside economic factors influencing [the
employee's] termination. [The employee] had a responsibility

-8-
Butler CA2024-01-005

to obtain the license as she had agreed to do when accepting
the promotion. Failing to meet that requirement was sufficient
to establish fault as it was defined in Tzangas.

Id. The Ohio Supreme Court found this to be the case even though the employee had

"made a bona fide effort" to obtain the necessary license within the designated timeframe

set forth by her employer. Id. at ¶ 32.

{¶ 18} The facts in Williams are analogous to the case at bar. We therefore agree

with the common pleas court's decision finding the Ohio Supreme Court's decision in

Williams to be "directly on point to this fact pattern." This is because, as the common

pleas court went on to explain within its decision:

Appellant was required to obtain a bachelors or masters
nursing degree for her position in quality assurance at the
hospital. This requirement, like the LISW certification
requirement in Williams, was directly related to Appellant's
position. Appellant had already completed a two-year nursing
degree and was an RN. To obtain her four-year BSN, she
would have only needed to take two or less years of classes.
Despite this, Appellant was given five years to complete her
degree after signing the Memorandum of Understanding in
2016. Appellant did not start her degree until 2018 and, after
a break in 2019, did not resume classes. Appellant only took
four classes towards the completion of her degree
requirements after signing the Memorandum of
Understanding. It is clear from the Review Commission's
transcript, the hearing officer's findings, and the administrative
record that it was solely the result of Appellant's actions, or
inactions, that she did not complete the requirements of the
Memorandum.

{¶ 19} We agree with the common pleas court's analysis set forth above. We also

agree with the common pleas court's decision finding:

The hearing officer found the following: (1) Appellant was
required to obtain an appropriate bachelors or masters degree
before May 31, 2021, and did not do so; (2) the expectation
had been made known to the Appellant when she was hired
and signed the Memorandum of Understanding; (3) the
expectations of Atrium for the degree requirement and
Appellant's working conditions were not unreasonable; and
(4) the degree requirements and process for extending the

-9-
Butler CA2024-01-005

time period had not changed. Under Williams, failure to obtain
a required certification or license constitutes unsuitability for
that position sufficient for an employer to have just cause for
termination. The hearing officer's findings contained rulings
on each of the Tzangas factors for unsuitability for the position
sufficient for just cause termination. These findings were
supported by the administrative record. Therefore, [in
accordance with Tzangas], it was not unlawful, unreasonable,
nor against the manifest weight of the evidence for the Review
Commission to find that Appellant did not quit with just cause,
as a discharge on May 31, 2021 would have been for just
cause.

{¶ 20} "Unemployment compensation provides temporary income to workers who

lose their jobs through no fault of their own." Evans v. Dir., Ohio Dept. of Job & Family

Servs., 5th Dist. Delaware No. 23 CAE 04 0023, 2023-Ohio-4299, ¶ 47. "For example,

discharge due to layoff, plant closure or work slowdown." Id. "[W]hen employees prove

to be unsuitable for their jobs or unable to complete their job requirements, 'fault' may

exist for purposes of unemployment compensation without any incidents of misconduct."

Alttrain, Inc. v. Dept. of Job & Family Servs., 9th Dist. Summit No. 29244, 2019-Ohio-

1430, ¶ 17. That is exactly what occurred here and what the memorandum of

understanding signed by Kienow expressly warned would happen if she did not obtain

the necessary degree by its May 31, 2021 deadline.

{¶ 21} Therefore, although we disagree with Kienow's argument that this is in

actuality an "inevitable discharge" case, even assuming that it was, Kienow's claim that

Atrium would not have had just cause to discharge her on May 31, 2021 had she not quit

also lacks merit. "[A] company is entitled to increase the educational requirements for

employment opportunities." Williams, 2011-Ohio-2897 at ¶ 31. Accordingly, regardless

of whether this case is reviewed to determine if the record supports a finding Kienow quit

her job with Atrium without just cause or whether Atrium would have had just cause to

discharge Kienow on May 31, 2021 had she not quit, the outcome is the same. That is

- 10 -
Butler CA2024-01-005

to say, under either scenario, the commission's decision to disallow Kienow's two

unemployment applications is not unlawful, unreasonable, or against the manifest weight

of the evidence. To the extent Kienow claims otherwise, such argument lacks merit.

Conclusion

{¶ 22} For the reasons set forth above, and finding no error in the common pleas

court's decision to affirm the decision issued by the commission disallowing Kienow's two

applications for unemployment compensation benefits in accordance with R.C.

4141.29(D)(2)(a) upon finding she had quit her job at Atrium without just cause, Kienow's

single assignment of error lacks merit and is overruled.

{¶ 23} Judgment affirmed.

HENDRICKSON and M. POWELL, JJ., concur.

- 11 -

---

Source: Frix Law Library, https://www.frixlaw.com/law-library/cases/10034121. Public record. Not legal advice.
